

2011 Snooker Championship \$1,000



Derek Yau - Champion

After months of qualifying matches, Pot Black's eight top players lined up for the final of this year's Snooker Championship. The round robin format kept the pressure on and up until the last frame the result was still undecided. Cannington's Ben Keen (2nd) and Geoff Askew (3rd) from Gosnells played consistently well all day.

Derek lost his first frame to his friend and fellow Northbridge player, Nee Chua. Following this early setback, Derek then won every frame and when Nee defeated Ben in the final frame and Derek defeated Geoff, this sealed the title.

Cannington are to be congratulated for producing three of the top eight being Ben, Himal Bhatt and Yohanes Tjandra. North Perth's Barry Saxon and Thomas Warren added to the class that was on display on the day.

Derek Yau is now added to the honour roll with past winners Chee Kong Kok – Northbridge (2010) and Paul Bunt – North Perth (2009).